Return to Headlines

RHS Students Represent at Long Island Science Congress

Thirty-one Roslyn High School students were among the top award winners at this year’s Long Island Science Congress (LISC). 

The competition was held virtually and is an exhibit of science projects by students in Nassau and Suffolk counties, sponsored by the Long Island Sections of the Science Teachers Association of New York State.

“Having been deprived of so many opportunities for our students last spring, we were delighted for them to have the chance to present their research this year and especially delighted by their outstanding performance!” said Dr. Allyson Weseley, Roslyn High School’s Coordinator of Research. 

Sophomores and juniors competed in the Senior Division and were advised by research seminar teachers Joe Dispigno, Vincent Kreyling, Andrea Pearlman, and Lisa Spyridon. 

“It was surreal and exciting to find out that Sara and I earned highest honors in LISC!” said Rachel Kwon. “It felt like all our hard work and time spent this year paid off, especially during these unprecedented circumstances."

Congratulations to the following Senior Division students:

Highest Honors

  • Rachel Kwon
  • Sara Rosenbaum


  • Mohammad Balasinorwala
  • Sonia Chandra 
  • Jessie Dong 
  • Lindsay Fabricant
  • Jake Konigsberg 
  • Kristi Lam
  • Amanda Liswood
  • Emelie Nguyen
  • Arya Sinha
  • Shrimoyee Sen
  • Samara Yadegari
  • Maxx Yung

First year students, advised by Dr. Weseley and Terisa Charles, competed in the Junior Division.  “The best part about LISC was the journey itself,” said Hanah Youn. Isabella Schiff concurred, saying, “Research this year has taught me how to think bigger and work harder.”

Congratulations to the following Junior Division students:

Highest Honors:

Daphne Lin
Isabella Schiff 
Aasiya Zaidi
Hanah Youn 

High Honors:
Cole Goodman
Mason Lee
Zejane Lee
Dante Turkashwand
Jacob Zwerling

Shayla Ai
Jacob Gross
Noah Janowitz
Alexandra Kanner
Elle Kaplan
Jim Kaplan
Ashley Kim
Sloane Simon